The folks at PC Magazine have been on the lookout for the the top Phish of the week. This week’s entry is called REMEMBER and its prime target is Amazon.com. Here’s what PC Magazine has to say about this nasty intruder:
Subject Line: Amazon.com Associates-Activate Your Account Now
Description: It’s interesting to see which little tricks phishers think will get the user to click through. The hook here is an old one: there are security problems on the site and everyone has to “update their profile.” This e-mail has a line of urgent-looking words across it: “REMEMBER! REMEMBER! REMEMBER! REMEMBER! REMEMBER!” This is meant to tell you that the company is there for you, but it just looks strange. If you click the “Click here to confirm your account” link you are brought not to www.amazon.com, but to a page on tvilda.tigbis.lt (.lt is Lithuania). The page you are brought to is a classic fake Amazon login screen.
Recommended Action: Pay attention to the details in an e-mail and don’t follow the links. Instead, go to the site by typing in the URL or following your own bookmarks.

2 Comments in this post »
RSS feed for comments on this post. | TrackBack URL
People need to be very aware of these types of Phishing attempts. I seem to not get as many as I used to because people have become so leery.
Always keep a critical eye on everything!
I was reading an article on the Internet, I believe from symantec but I could be wrong that 80% of the people that receive phishing scams in email actually for for it at least once. I must admit that even I almost fell for one. I was in the middle of a rabid bid on EBAY for some rather expensive video equipment when I looked in my email (to distract myself from the bidding that was going to end in less then 10 minutes) and I saw an email that seemed to be from EBay saying that due to suspicious activity my account was going to be suspended unless…..
Well that set my brain into panic mode less then ten minutes left on something I really wanted and I’ve been locked out from bidding!! I clicked the link, and then suddenly came to my senses. EBay would not send me to 167.xxx.xxx.xxx it simply would have taken me to something.ebay.com/something/…..
So instead I closed all browsers and manually I typed in http://www.ebay.com. And to my relief everything was OK. Oh and I did win the bid too!! YIPPEEE..
They say that there is no software or hardware that can protect the computer/network from the worse threat ever created. That threat is located between the keyboard and seat of every computer system. Humans are the weakest link in the chain of security.
Remember if the email sounds too good to be true, like “Hi, regarding our recent agreement for me to give you millions of dollars, or if it seems to be bad to be true like, all your assets have been locked up by your credit card company and we will be forcing your dog into obedience classes unless you sign in to this website to confirm your activities even though they told you that you’d never receive an email from them like this. Then the bottom line is that it is a bogus email.
`Mitch
Http://www.garageaction.com
http::www.tvbydemand.com
You must be logged in to post a comment.